The Lowan Electorate

Lowan District is a rural electorate located north-west of Melbourne. The district includes the country towns of Apsley, Balmoral, Branxholme, Casterton, Cavendish, Coleraine, Dartmoor, Dimboola, Douglas, Dunkeld, Edenhope, Goroke, Halls Gap, Hamilton, Harrow, Horsham, Jeparit, Kaniva, Lake Bolac, Lubeck, Minyip, Murtoa, Natimuk, Nhill, Penshurst, Rainbow, Rupanyup, Streatham, Warracknabeal and Willaura. The current seat was established in 2002 although several previous seats held the same name.

Covering 39,182 square kilometres, the District is the largest in Victoria, stretching from the Big Desert to within ten kilometres of the coast. It includes the wheat growing area of the Wimmera and the wool growing areas of the Western District. Natural features include the Grampians and Mount Arapiles.

Agree with Emma’s Vision?

Share this page
and show your support

Created with NationBuilder